As a POC service provider NCCI’s approach is to provide guidance to carriers on proof of coverage reporting guidelines. This guide is not intended to provide carrier notice to insured filing requirements.
All information provided in this guide is subject to change and dependent on notification from the state. Please refer to the applicable Workers Compensation Statutes or Rules for additional information.
Virginia Workers Compensation Commission
333 East Franklin Street
Richmond, VA 23219
Contact Name: Aubrey Chigwada
NCCI’s received date is used to determine timeliness on POC transactions accepted by the state.
Due within 30 days of the Policy Effective Date.
POC Notices may be submitted if the policy will not be issued within 30 days of the Policy Effective Date. The full policy must be reported within 90 days of the POC Notice being received by the Virginia Workers Compensation Commission.
Due 10 days prior to the Cancellation Effective Date for Nonpayment Cancellations. Other cancellations are due 30 days prior to the Cancellation Effective Date.
A cancellation at the employer's request is effective as of the date the notice is received by the Commission.
Due within 30 days of the Reinstatement Effective Date.
Nonrenewal cancellations initiated by insurer are required 30 days prior to the cancellation date. Nonrenewal transactions are not required if the insurer offered a renewal and the renewal is not taken by the insured or if the insured obtains other insurance and the Commission is notified by the insurer assuming the risk.
Address Reporting—No Physical Location:
State Processing Exceptions:
An insurance carrier that fails to report timely will be fined by the Virginia Workers Compensation Commission (VWCC) a civil penalty of up to $500 for each failure. When the VWCC is notified by an employer that it has Proof of Coverage but the coverage has not been filed timely, VWCC offers an opportunity to file. In the event the carrier fails to file promptly, a fine is issued.
To encourage carrier review and compliance, the VWCC is also conducting broad quarterly, systematic reviews of all timely filings and fining.
A 30-day period is allowed to request formal review.
Disclaimer:This guide is comprised of materials and information which are proprietary to NCCI and are protected by United States and international copyright and other intellectual property laws.
This guide is provided solely as a reference tool to be used for the limited purpose of providing information to carriers regarding the reporting of proof of coverage information in various states. The information in this guide shall not be construed or interpreted as providing of legal or any other advice as to the cancellation, renewal or nonrenewal of an insurance policy or contract. Use of this guide for any purpose other than as set forth herein is strictly prohibited.
The guide is furnished “As Is” and includes information available at the time of publication only. NCCI makes no representations or warranties of any kind relating to this guide, and expressly disclaims any and all express, statutory, or implied warranties including the implied warranty of merchantability and fitness for a particular purpose. Additionally, you assume responsibility for the use of, and for any and all results, conclusions, analyses, or decisions developed, derived or obtained as a result of this guide and NCCI does not endorse, approve, or otherwise acquiesce in your actions, results, analyses, or decisions, nor shall NCCI have any liability thereto.
CONNECT WITH US